“Green banana’s” smoothie

IMG_9049

I’m always trying to find new and interesting ways of adding veggies into my everyday eating. I’m happy to say that this delicious smoothie gets me off to the right start for the day. It also gives me an awesome injection of essential nutrients first thing in the morning – fibre, iron, vitamin C, potassium, protein and calcium.

Ok…so there are no actual ‘green bananas’ in this smoothie I whipped up over the weekend. I guess it’s more the ‘vibe’ of the drink.

Many of the smoothies I make are a bit of a blend of leftovers lying in the fridge, freezer and/or pantry (i.e. no strict measurements observed). This was a little experiment which worked out deliciously well. And, it’s almost vegan for you vegans out there (sans honey).

IMG_9040

Ingredients

  • Handful or more of baby spinach
  • 1 small green pear
  • 1 banana
  • Handful walnuts
  • Handful bran
  • 1 cup soy milk (I used Vitasoy  Soy Milky Lite)
  • Squeeze of honey (teaspoon)
  • Water, as needed, to blend

Whizz up everything in a blender and enjoy.

I love the creaminess and the flavours and textures in this smoothie. Sweetness from the banana and pear which lightens up the bitterness of the baby spinach, nuttiness from the walnuts, and creaminess from the soy milk. I usually include bran as well to increase my fibre intake and to add a slight crunch to the smoothie.

The smoothie is also fairly cold itself from the milk, but you can add some ice cubes or use chopped up frozen bananas instead.

IMG_9050

2 thoughts on ““Green banana’s” smoothie

Leave a Reply

